• Kaunda Chama

Delle Donne, Wilson lead WNBA All-Star first returns

Former WNBA MVP Elena Delle Donne of the Washington Mystics and reigning WNBA Rookie of the Year A’ja Wilson of the Las Vegas Aces are the leading vote-getters after the first fan returns of WNBA All-Star Voting 2019 presented by Google.

Fans account for 50 percent of the vote to determine the 10 starters for the 16th WNBA All-Star Game, which will take place at the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas on Saturday, July 27. All current WNBA players and a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters each account for 25 percent of the vote. WNBA All-Star Voting 2019 will conclude on Tuesday, July 9. The starters and team captains will be revealed on Thursday, July 11.

Delle Donne, the 2015 WNBA MVP, a five-time All-Star selection and the captain of Team Delle Donne for the 2018 WNBA All-Star Game, leads all players with 20,337 votes. Wilson, an All-Star as a rookie last season, is second with15,379 votes.

Delle Donne and Wilson are followed in the fan voting by two-time All-Star Liz Cambage of the Aces (12,756), 2018 WNBA Sixth Woman of the Year Jonquel Jones of the Connecticut Sun (12,494) and 2018 WNBA Most Improved Player Natasha Howard of the Seattle Storm (11,961).

Rounding out the top 10 vote-getters are two-time WNBA MVP Candace Parker of the Los Angeles Sparks (11,185), two-time All-Star and current WNBA scoring leader DeWanna Bonner of the Phoenix Mercury (11,112), two-time WNBA Defensive Player of the Year Brittney Griner of the Mercury (10,668), rookie No. 6 overall draft pick Napheesa Collier of the Minnesota Lynx (10,543) and 2017 WNBA MVP and Finals MVP Sylvia Fowles of the Lynx (10,190).

The starters and reserves for WNBA All-Star 2019 are being selected without regard for conference affiliation. After the starters have been determined, the league’s head coaches will vote for the reserves. Coaches will vote for three guards, five frontcourt players and four players at either position regardless of conference. They may not vote for their own players. The reserves will be announced on Monday, July 15.

The captains – the two All-Star starters who receive the most fan votes – will draft their respective rosters by selecting first from the remaining eight players in the pool of starters and then from the pool of 12 reserves. Additional details about the WNBA All-Star Draft will be announced at a later date.

See below for the leaders among first fan returns of WNBA All-Star Voting:

  • Elena Delle Donne (WSH) 20,337

  • A’ja Wilson (LV) 15,379

  • Liz Cambage (LV) 12,756

  • Jonquel Jones (CON) 12,494

  • Natasha Howard (SEA) 11,961

  • Candace Parker (LA) 11,185

  • DeWanna Bonner (PHX) 11,112

  • Brittney Griner (PHX) 10,668

  • Napheesa Collier (MIN) 10,543

  • Sylvia Fowles (MIN) 10,190

  • Jewell Loyd (SEA) 9,863

  • Nneka Ogwumike (LA) 9,631

  • Tina Charles (NY) 8,541

  • Kayla McBride (LV) 8,425

  • Chelsea Gray (LA) 8,146

  • Chiney Ogwumike (LA) 7,301

  • Kelsey Plum (LV) 7,046

  • Diamond DeShields (CHI) 6,935

  • Kristi Toliver (WSH) 6,859

  • Diana Taurasi (PHX) 6,762

  • Courtney Vandersloot (CHI) 6,611

  • Courtney Williams (CON) 6,550

  • Kia Nurse (NY) 6,467

  • Natasha Cloud (WSH) 6,173

  • Alyssa Thomas (CON) 5,888

  • Odyssey Sims (MIN) 5,810

  • Allie Quigley (CHI) 5,578

  • Alysha Clark (SEA) 5,455

  • Jordin Canada (SEA) 5,269

  • Candice Dupree (IND) 4,939

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All